Watching Punch and Judy

I've caused a bit of confusion, not least for myself, by posting recent blips out of sequence! I'm on the mend, with sufficient energy today to fulfil a long-standing date with the Burnsall Fell Race, and good friends from the past.

There was no intention to race, just to take part, and survive, which actually made it as hard as it's ever felt. When you're racing, in the zone, the pain is largely removed by adrenaline. Running for the first time in the lower half of the field I was able to feel the burn far more intensely today. It was a strange experience. It's given me the resolve to get fit to try racing properly again next year. It will be easier. Despite everything, I was only beaten by one guy as old as me so there's also a resolve to win my category next time around!

There's lots happening on the Green the day of the races. I wonder who will be the first to guess what's holding the attention of all these little faces? Answer tomorrow.

PS Link to last year's race for the record.

PPS For my own personal record: 52/101 in 23.12

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.