'Common' Sense...

...is needed on Stourbridge Common when there are cattle present according to a notice at the entrances. There have been some instances of aggression and stampeding.(Once into the nearby children's playground) Also the animals crowd around the gates so that you cannot pass. Anyone, residing, occupying or owning land in Cambridge city, has the right to graze up to 53 cattle from April - November for a reasonable fee. It is recommended that you do not attempt to stroke them, do not stare at them, keep dogs on a lead. If one comes towards you, do not run but shout and wave your arms about. Try and walk near a fence so you can jump over it ! Haha, I'd need a good butt from the animal to get me over a fence, I think the alternative would be to jump in the river, at least I can swim ! I must say that I zoomed in on this shot as I didn't like the look of those long horns. Apparently it is safest to cycle as cows can't run fast. I think the best thing to do is to sit in the pub garden on the opposite bank with a nice cool drink, until they have moved away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.