A Holy Fool

Sunday 21st August 2016 (1457)

Before I got up this morning I heard the news on Radio 4 of the death of Roly Bain. 

Roly was a Vicar who worked for many years as a full time Christian Clown. He was an inspiration to me to get involved in Christian Clowning. I met him on many occasions and he supported me when I did a placement on clowning as part of my ministry training. He preached the gospel in a fun way, he challenged the structures and he made the church laugh at itself. He helped us to understand the theology of the clown. 

He is pictured here on his slack rope of faith, his main routine. The picture has been alongside my desk for the last 15 years since he wrote to me about my placement. It often inspires me and acts as a reminder to put our trust in God and not take ourselves too seriously.  The hat belongs to my clown, Q - "that's Q for question, Q's the name and questions the game".  

Roly was one of the founding members of Holy Fools, which I was a member of for many years. He was a clown of God, may he Rest In Peace. I'm sure we can hear the laughter of celebration in heaven as he is welcomed home. 

Obituary. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.