Jousting ... 'Huzzah!'

First day of the 1485 Battle of Bosworth Re-Enactment festivities.  We were there before opening time = 09.45, and stayed all the way to the end = 17.00.  There were a lot of activities planned, including a hawking demo, a medieval fashion show, a children's costume competition, demos on how knights were dressed and equipped for battle, a variety of shops selling medieval-themed items, and, of course, jousting!  This was shot at the moment of impact.  The one who presented this event did it with such (dry) humour we were in stitches the whole time.  The extras show 'His Majesty' afterwards.  A good laugh "was had by all".

There was also a mini medieval village.  Everyone involved was dressed in period costume, including children and infants, as well as all the shop owners and assistants.  It was like walking into a fairy-tale ... or a dream.

To be honest, I took more than 400 shots and, for the first time, my cam battery was well and truly empty by 17.00.  Two battles were re-enacted today -- the Battle of Tewkesbury (now glad we went there and I've read about it, the one with Margaret of Anjou, that scheming woman), and the Battle of Bosworth, of course, of which I took several shots.  Tomorrow, we are attending again, and that is when I'll post it here.  Of course, this is a backblip, but with more than 400 shots to work through, surely you can imagine what a difficult time it has been to choose one, not to mention to work on them all.

As for the weather, dry with patches of blue sky, but quite chilly.  The emphasis is on 'dry'.  It had rained the evening before so there was a fair amount of mud early in the day but it was all dry by early afternoon.  We took a cab to go there, which was quite cheap, and took another to get back to our B&B.  While in the battlefield area, we met the couple I got to know during the MOOC, and it was 'she' who recognized me.  We briefly exchanged some pleasantries then went on our respective ways, and I hope that is how it stays.

Wonderful day!  Huzzah!

PS.  Hubby and I have continued our discussion on history and politics and while we have been enjoying ourselves these past three weeks (one more week to go), we have not been lacking in thoughts and insights, and when we get back, I may express some of them here.  Fortunately, I don't have time now, anyway, and I don't want to spoil my own mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.