A Thousand a Day

By Daver64

"Before my time."

It always makes me smile when people use that phrase, when they can't answer  a quiz question about "old" music, though it isn't often used to describe Bach or Mozart's compositions!
This instrumental topped the charts four years before I was born, but I've known it from a very young age, as it was part of my folks' small record collection. (Definitely a case of quality, not quantity.)
Today, when I asked Daughter #1, what she had been strumming in her guitar lesson, she said, "Apache." I was pleased when she told me that it had come as no surprise to her teacher, who knows her well now, that she was familiar with the Shadows.
I have promised her that she can have Grandad's disc, when she can play it well. (It already has her initials on the label)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.