Old kit

I should now be at the start of my summer holiday on the west coast of France cycling from village to village in the glorious sun. Instead we're stuck at home in the less than glorious greyness that is an English summer - see previous blips for the full story.

Yesterday I took the front gate of it's hinges to paint bits of it I can't paint while it's hanging, and today I put it back (after much cursing) and painted the rest of it. At the same time I took the side gate of it's hinges and painted the bits of it I can't reach while hanging and tomorrow it will be re-hung and fully painted.

This morning my better half went into hospital for one of her many checks she will have to have over the next few weeks. Last year it was my year to be in and out of hospital for months at a time and this year it is her turn...

As I'm off work and at home I decided to buy some stuff that I had planned on buying when we got back. Today's blip is the rather dusty innards of my home server. I decided to replace the motherboard and CPU with one that is marginally quicker but uses half the electricity, and runs at half the temperature. The rest of the board is similar, slightly more RAM but two generations newer so faster and cooler, and so on. I've also got two 6 TB hard drivers to replace the two 0.5 TB hard drives in at the moment, but I've not swapped them round yet - I'll do that later in the week.

After the computer upgrade and some lunch (French fish) I went for a short two hour loop on my bike. I may not be cycling touring up the French coast but I'm still putting the kilometres on the clock. I need to average at least 55 km per day over the fortnight to clock up the equivalent of a summer holiday, Denmark 930 km, Brittany 578 km. Yesterday I managed 66 km and today I did 50 km, both at 24 km/h.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.