Mono Monday: Smell

About a year ago, I blipped a Delft tile. As soon as I mentioned today's MM theme, Victoria reminded me of an obvious subject: a little picture hidden on an inside surface of the same fireplace.

Above this very strange looking dog is the phrase, "DEZE HOND STINKT NIET". A friend from the Netherlands (thanks Martijn!) told me it was Old Dutch, and translated it as: "This dog doesn't stink"! I like to think that when the Dutch craftsmen were building the fireplace, their client had a malodorous dog that pestered them incessantly - so they added this as their private joke :)

It proved a bit awkward to shoot - a combination of poor lighting and a firebasket too heavy to lift sitting right in my way - but this hound always makes me smile so well worth the effort.

Mono Monday is hosted by JDO. You can see all this week's entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.