Looking For Words

My french cousin from the Côte d'Azur surprised us with her visit last week - nobody knew she and her family were coming on holidays and when she knocked on my mom's door we could hardly believe our eyes.

Today we arranged a family meeting, had coffee and cake at my mom's in the afternoon and then took off to the Biergarten in the next town.
The weather gods were with us - after rain in the morning the sun came out and one half of the family decided to walk the 3 kilometers. It took us almost two hours...
Every 100 meters or so we had to stop to keep the conversation going. My cousin understands a little German, her husband a little English, my niece a little French. We all have hand and feet.
When German and French and English and hand and feet didn't get us anywhere in understanding each other, we asked Mr Google. This is one of the Mr Google stops....
The way home was much faster (it was dark and there are no streetlights between the towns).
It was a lot of fun and language really wasn't that much of a problem as it may sound. Last time I saw my cousin was in 2008. I've never been to her place.

0:45; 13°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.