On the Steps of the Glass Museum, Tacoma

Sketch Crawl, Day One. I spent awhile trying to sketch these buildings and the mesmerizing lines of the stairs and found out how much I don't know about perspective. Later on an entire Indian wedding party in traditional saris posed on these same steps, which would have made for an even more complicated drawing.
In the morning I worked on a sketch of Union Station, a complex and ornate building with a fabulous dome. There were over 150 sketchers from California, Washington, Oregon, Canada and Arizona, all of us setting up in the picturesque downtown museum area of Tacoma. It was the first time I've ever been to an event like this, where folks shared their work and their stories, swapped tips and ideas for equipment and kindled friendships. There were no classes, just people sitting in the street, drawing for the absolute fun of it. Temps were in the 90s, which upped the ante a bit, but didn't really dampen anyone's spirits.
Can't post Extras from the iPad, but I'm going to try and change things from my phone when I get a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.