Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Hesitant

I had an exceptional day with my little buddy yesterday.  I had to blip him of course as I love photographing him...he is so expressive!  I could have easily blipped a photo of him smiling or hamming it up for the camera but I love this one because it lets you glimpse a bit into how hesitant he is in the 'world'.

S is 7.5 years old (which he is quick to tell you) and when I first received him as a student when he was 4, he could not answer a single question, could not greet you....in fact, had little oral communication.  He did talk in numbers, threw things, screamed and was quite physical.  Fast forward three years, and you would never guess that he had autism unless you had a conversation with him, then you would wonder why he seems 'different' somehow.

I took him to a large park with a space shuttle for climbing and sliding on.  Very cool and as he loves anything related to space, he was ecstatic to go there!  However, when he saw how busy it was, he was reluctant to leave the car.  Here it shows how hesitant he was to run around and play as he was under one of the ladders.  Hard to believe that 2 hrs later I had to give him the countdown to get him to leave the park as he was having so much fun running, climbing and sliding  :)

S told me that he will be a mathematician (of course) when he grows up but dreams of being an Olympic athlete in running because his legs simply love to run!

Have a splendid Tuesday everyone...dream big  : )

D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.