East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Cane Fire at Chatswood Island

I didn't think I would have a blip today as we had a big day in Brisbane with no chance of a blip session except for more of birthday boy Z and his sister Miss 4/nearly five. First of all the morning started with me having to insist that MOH desperately needed a wardrobe update for our upcoming (and long awaited) trip to Italy (I'm so excited I can't really believe as I write this that is going to happen soon). Anyway, he was very reluctantly "convinced" that with only two weeks to go it had to be done and done TODAY! Well anyway, a few hours later we had 4 new pair of shorts and three shirts for him! As his patience with shopping was starting to wear very thin at this stage, that had to do. I also desperately needed a bit of an update as well, but most of the shops in Indooroopilly Shopping Centre where we were shopping still have all the ladies winter gear in. I decided we had to make a bit of a detour out to a little shop in Kenmore where I have had some success in the past. It didn't disappoint with the first of their summer gear having just arrived I was in luck. By this time we were late leaving Brisbane and I had given up on a blip opportunity. However, about a half hour from home I spotted this cane fire just off to the left of the Pacific Highway on Chatswood Island and we managed to get a spot to stop (risking life and limb almost) to snap this shot. It's taken with the new little compact camera I bought in Brissy to take on our trip to Italy. It's small enough to fit in a pocket or my handbag but I'm still trying to get used to it so this was the best I could do for a blip today.
It's very nice to be home and watch the news for the first time in 4 days and catch up with the Olympics. Much to do over here about our lack of gold this time around and much talk of what's to be done about it! At least one good thing to come out of it is a suggestion to bring back the weekly compulsory sports afternoon for schools which had been scrapped some years ago. I think that is a very good idea for the general health of our kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.