Start of the Wales Coast Path

I went down to the football ground to buy a ticket for the upcoming Wrexham game this morning. It proved a handy place to leave my car and I walked down the track next to the ground to the river and then along to the start of the Wales Coast Path to find a geocache.

Those of you who are following me will know that kwdiane and I are intermittently walking the Wales Coast Path. We are now a day away from Holyhead on Anglesey but the path starts here, along the River Dee, just outside Chester. Realistically the border is a mile from the nearest road so I think most people start from the centre of Chester which is what we did.

Three years ago I was walking along this path when I bumped into a friend who lives alongside the river. She started telling me how, as a child, she had once spotted a porpoise along the river but had never seen one since. As she was telling me the story a porpoise jumped out of the water heading towards the city. It was an amazing coincidence and you can imagine how excited she was. Sadly I didn't have a camera with me so had to rely on my phone but I did see a couple of pictures in the paper of this rare sight.

I had rather hoped that I would see the Beluga as it flew in to British Aerospace but predictably I only saw it as I was driving away so I had to use these cyclists instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.