Very few butterflies

In spite of the glorious hot weather, there didn't seem many butterflies around (apart from the odd white).  I went over to Elford Hall Gardens where they have so many butterfly-friendly plants to see if their bushes were attracting very  much.

There was a Red Admiral, one Small Tortoiseshell, one Comma and two Speckled Woods (apart from the odd white) - a mere fraction of the numbers usually there. (So I didn't feel too bad about the absence of them in my own garden.)

Please note the photobombing hover fly in the corner

Duck Saga:
I was worried about her this morning. When I got back from the gym, she was just lying helpless.  I rang the nearest wildlife rescue and they said they couldn't take ducks (no pond).  I told them I hadn't a pond either. They told  me to give her another couple of days and see how she went on. They also said she would be off in her own time.  So I changed the large bowl of water and put out some bird seed for her, in her own little dish.

About half an hour later, she was dashing around, unconcerned, as though nothing was the matter.

Let's hope she does decide to wander away on her adventures, in her own time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.