Sniffles

Christopher Robin
Had wheezles
And sneezles,
They bundled him
Into
His bed.
They gave him what goes
With a cold in the nose,
And some more for a cold
In the head ...

~ A.A. Milne, "Sneezles", Now We Are Six

Last week, I came down with a particularly unpleasant summer cold.  It started out with a very sore throat, and then progressed to unspeakable blockages in the nose and ears that made my head feel like it was bobbing on a string somewhere way above my body.  Then came the annoying tickly cough which became especially active in the wee small hours ... and aches, chills, and an overall urge to lie languidly on a couch somewhere, not doing terribly much of anything.

I warned Mr. W not to come near me, but sadly he has now come down with the dreaded lurgy.  He came home from work mid-morning, feeling all achy and freezing cold.  He is currently installed on the couch, swathed in blankets, playing his "save the princess" game on his phone, and feeling all together sorry for himself.  I completely understand why!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.