Fascinating Physics

There was some heavy rain in Arnside yesterday and as there was no wind after it stopped the water droplets on many surfaces were still there this morning.

I wish I knew more about the Physics involved. As I understand it the water molecules in the centre of these water blobs are pulled from every direction from the other molecules all around them and they remain stable. On the other hand the molecules on the surface are pulled just by those below them and this leads them to form generally circular water drops.

Then, if you are still reading, the weak force of gravity, whilst not strong enough to pull them off the leaf, is sufficient to pull them out of a circular shape.

Finally gravity is in conflict with the surface tension between the water and the leaf. The result will depend in part upon the nature of the surface on which the water rests.

I have at least one follower who has a Physics degree and she might tell me if I am very wrong.

For the rest of you, if you have been, thanks for reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.