Tiny Tuesday

Or to be more precise: Terrible Magical Friday.  Last Friday – on vacation a long way from home - I tried to do something I’ve done numerous times.  Switch lens.  But after pressing the release button and turning the lens clockwise nothing happened.  I was unable to remove the lens.  After some serious thinking I decided not to apply force.  Then I noticed that the white dot on the lens was a bit past the corresponding white dot on the body.  Aha, I slowly rotated the lens back a few degrees and I was now able to remove it.  But why?  None of my other lenses had the same problem.  I consulted two of my Nikon friends but none of them could give me any advice.

Over to the Magical part.  When cleaning the table a bit later I noticed something very small and shining.  A tiny screw. I mailed my photo dealer and although they were closed I got a quick response saying.  “This could happen – just screw it back and try to secure it with nail polish.”  Back home again I had the proper tools - magnifier and miniature screw driver - to fix the lens. 

The blip shows the tiny screw and the vacant screw hole where it should be.  The metric ruler maybe gives an idea of the size of the tiny screw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.