Demazed

This is a public service announcement:
There is a way to get from Platform 5 to Platform 8 at Birmingham New Street station without being forced through Costa, John Lewis, Funky Pigeon and the Pasty Shop!
 
On our way to Scotland two weeks ago I went up the stairs during the obligatory stop-over at Birmingham New Street to try to get my bearings. I happened to be at the ‘a’ (Leamington/Reading-bound) end of the platforms. As with my previous two visits, I was led by a white rabbit through steel barriers, under mirrors, round glass walls, past signs to a ‘blue lounge’ and past something labelled ‘yellow lounge’ until my sense of direction was thoroughly mangled.
 
But, a wormhole! By following the second star to the right and going straight on 'til almost the next morning I spotted that on the ‘b’ (Wolverhampton/Manchester-bound) side of the station there is no glass barrier stopping you getting from one platform to the next. Oh bliss was it, in that dawning, to be alive! But my train was due to leave so before I was turned into a pumpkin I ran back past the yellow lounge, past the ‘blue lounge’ signs, round glass walls, under mirrors, through steel barriers and down the steps to trainland.
 
Intrepid explorer that I am, I decided to investigate further on our journey home, i.e. today. During our obligatory stop-over at Birmingham New Street I came up the steps from our platform at the ‘b’ end and - wonder of wonders! - found myself on that cold, hostile corridor with no seats that used to run at right angles to the train tracks, all the way from platform 1 to platform 12, enabling easy access to any platform. And I was not in a time-warp. It really is still there! It has exits to the shops down one side but you can ignore them and just change platforms as in the olden days. They’ve even added a few seats for when the trains are late.
 
During my next obligatory stop-over at Birmingham New Street I’ll see it it’s possible to find when you’re actually looking for it.
 
If I find my way out again, I will report back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.