Anne

Backblip

Our families have always been intertwined. Before I was born Anne, on the right here with Mum, lived next door with her Mum, Susie, and two brothers and sister. They moved to another house in the Village not long after I was born, but the bond was created, and there was never a time that she wasn't in my life, as close as any blood relative. Anne married a local lad, Dixie, but he was tragically killed in a work accident a few years into the marriage. She spent many a weekend evening in our company and her and Mum grew closer. Best friends. Then Anne met Ed, I think I was 11 and then they married. I loved Ed like an Uncle too, he was tall and handsome and used to tease me about boyfriends and I used to get so embarrassed and go red in the face!

We holidayed together, lots of fun times and loads of laughs. They had a daughter Alison, and moved out of the village but we were visiting them and they would be up often too.

Anne died today, aged only 74, of Acute Pancreatitis. We had been having a bit of banter on-line only on Sunday. She took ill on Tuesday, was put into an induced coma on Wednesday, and passed away, peacefully, with Aly holding her hand on Friday afternoon.

Hearing of unexpected death of a loved one hits like a physical pain to the heart. When we heard that she was in hospital on Tuesday, we didn't think it would end this way. We hoped and thought positively that she would recover and we would hear her voice and see her again, frailer perhaps, but still with that spirit and big personality, direct and to the point, that was Anne. my Mum looks as if she has aged 5 years, and can't believe she won't hear her friend's voice again, as they would be chatting on the phone for hours. Two young grandchildren are having to deal with the death of their Gran, only four years after losing their Grandpa, Ed. with them only living doors away from each other and seeing their Gran every day, it's heartbreaking .

I loved you Anne, and I'm struggling at this time to think that I'm never going to see you again. I know, time will pass and the pain will ease, but someone who was part of my whole life, who knew me as well as anyone ever did, the good and not so good, and loved me whatever, has gone, and I'm devastated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.