Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

Stanley Mills....

Took a trip out to Stanley Mills this morning to try and get a photo for an annual photo competition which I entered last year at this time.  The competition is hosted by Luminate Scotland which is an organisation that promotes events in all aspects of the arts for older people in Scotland.  Last year the theme was generations and I entered a photo of my oldest step-daughter and her bump, (the bump is now almost 15 months old!) which was successfully included in the exhibition of entries which toured Scotland in October last year.
This year's theme is Architecture and the idea was to take a photo of a building that was special to me and/or my community in some way.
I love Stanley Mills having previously lived in Stanley and watched the development of this old mill site into a great attraction after it was bought by Historic Scotland.  It opened in 2008 and has since had quite a bit of work done on new exhibits and there have been quite a few open days there too which are always fun.
One of the major reasons why I love this place so much was to do with my late Mom who visited Stanley Mills with us in 2013 when she stayed in Perth for her birthday that year and absolutely loved it...she talked about her life as a mill girl when she was in her teens and knew all about the machinery and I had never seen her so animated about a museum before!
This is not the photo I have entered but another one I took this morning....it's a great place but a pity the weather wasn't a bit better as it was raining and I didn't spend too long taking photos....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.