Fay's Photo Challenge

By Faylm

Hair

Today's theme is: Hair.

I wasn't in town today so couldn't go scouting for a photo of someone with really cool hair unfortunately. I did try a photo of my husband's hair, but he is going bald/receeding and I don't think he'd be too happy to have this fact shown to the world on here.
So you're stuck with my barnet instead.

I have naturally curly hair, just like my mum and my mum's mum. I hate it! And I am very thankful that neither of my kids have inherited the curly hair gene.
But I am also very apathetic about my hair and I have no desire to spend ages straightening it either (although I do think it looks so much better when I do make the effort to want it looking straight and to smell the aroma of burned hair). I'd rather have a wash and go thing going on but alas it is not to be

When I was little I used to wish I had the long blonde straight hair that the lady in the Timotei had.

I had short hair right up until the age of 19. My mum kept it short when I was a kid, I presume so it was easier to manage. She had a blue comb that she kept in her handbag and it was truly the most evil thing she possessed and used on me. I never knew at which points she deemed it necessary to attack my hair with said blue comb, if it was too tuggy, too messy, too curly, whatever but it was lethal!

I really dislike going to the hairdresser, I find many salons snobby with staff looking down their noses at me (although current one is quite good and at least very friendly) as I wander in for a hair cut, when the purse strings allow, looking like I've been dragged through a hedge backwards.

But I begrudge paying the amount of money you have to pay for a haircut nowadays, when I can't have that many different styles. You hardly ever see pages of naturally curly hair styles in magazines so there really is little choice..
do you want the triangular look or the spaniel look?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.