Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Procrastination

The replacement front door lock set I bought months ago came with a deadbolt reinforcing plate. I installed the lock with just the standard striker plate -- a thin piece of metal with short screws seen on the left side of the photo. One kick, or a shoulder bump, would have been enough to force the door open.
 
Since we live in a very safe neighborhood -- no burglaries or car the -- there wasn't much incentive to chisel out the recess in the jamb to accommodate the thickness of the extra plate. I put the extra parts on my dresser to avoid losing them, and to remind me to finish the job later. Later was a long time coming -- it happened today.

The longer screws go through the flimsy door jamb into the much stronger wall studs. Nobody is going to kick this door open now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.