Hampsfella

By KenPetch

Painted Lady

I ended up at Elford again this morning.  It wasn't my intention to go there but it served as a safe fall back location when everything else failed. Initially I had driven down to the Ladywalk reserve only to find that the combination stated on my membership card would not open the combination lock to let me in.  Next I drove back towards Tamworth intending to visit the Tameside reserve and got caught up in a horrendous queue of cars all trying to get into the Drayton Manor resort.  After about a half hour delay I reached the Tameside reserve only to find the whole area flooded and impassable after last night's rain.  It was only then that I decided to head back to Elford although it did cross my mind that with the high water level on the River Tame the boathouse might not be accessible. In fact it was ok and I spent some time there watching birds, dragonflies and water boatmen.  Wandering back towards the car I passed a large buddleia bush that was just covered in butterflies including some beautiful red admirals and this lovely painted lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.