CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

At the Oban Highland Gathering

Ever since my first visit to the Highland Games held at Arisaig a couple of years ago, I've wanted to go to another. The Oban games is slightly different being held in a town and at the end of the season of games.  Helena has very fond and vivid memories of visiting them each year when she grew up here.

We set off early so that we could watch the march of the Oban Pipe Band from the harbour side up to where the games would be held. I love the sound of a mass band of pipers and watching them march as well is very moving, an ancient ritual.  I took lots of pictures, in fact I did so all day, and have many to sort through to pick the collection I will post on Flickr when I return home, and have more time. (In fact the connection here is only just good enough to blip occasionally.)

The games were great fun to watch and were held under a very sunny sky, which probably made it a bit uncomfortable for the contestants. Helena's nephew Natty, has been made a 'Clan chief', like a prefect I gather, at Oban High School and had to attend the games because of their close connection to the school. 

We saw the Oban High School Pipe Band preparing to march up the games like the earlier Pipe band and we watched them set off. I took a lot of different angles in my pictures of them and in the end I liked this picture of one of the High School drummers, which I caught as they were marching past us on the road. I think I was lucky to get a sharp image.  

More to come in a few days time .......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.