Hangingstone Heather

It was another of those days when I found myself stuck in neutral, unable to engage any power, or focus, or whatever the right word is. I tried not to get too frustrated. It means another blip from the garden but with the heather just about at its peak and more beautiful skies today, it would have been difficult to resist posting this shot anyway. There is something about this place.

On the way back down I bumped into three guys struggling to carry a huge bag between them. It was brim full of firewood. I offered to take the corner where they were missing a hand and helped them lift and drag it to where they were camping right beside the Hangingstone itself. Rather tongue in cheek, as I expected that more drinking would be done than hiking, I suggested that they'd be getting a lot of walking in this weekend. "A lot of praying," was the unexpected response. And he wasn't joking! There really is something rather special about Hangingstone Quarry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.