Little Goldfinch Begs Papa Goldfinch for a Snack

It's a sound I hear frequently in the gardens in the morning: the chirp-chirp, flutter-flutter of baby goldfinches begging to be fed by their parents. I heard the sound on this morning and looked up to see this sight: a baby finch begging Papa for a snack, which I believe he provided. And then they both flew off.

Just before that, I met a cute little bunny in the gardens; its photo, with pink ears backlit by morning light, appears in the extras. It was hanging out by the purple asters at the edge of the pollinator garden, looking absolutely delighted to be surrounded by such glorious snackage. The gardens are good for the local wildlife; they provide cover, shelter, and food. And beauty, of course, which is food for all of our souls.

The soundtrack: Dixie Chicks, I'll Take Care of You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.