One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Martello expectations

When I told the lads that I was taking them to the 45 minute guided tour of the martello tower at Seapoint, they were not exactly overflowing with enthusiasm. 

But thanks to an energetic, knowledgeable and upbeat-without-overdoing-it guide, they really enjoyed getting an opportunity to see the inside of the martello.  

The 2.3 meter thick walls were quite impressive. 

But of course the cannon was their all-time favourite. 

We walked back home via Blackberries Lane and we bought a turnip for tonight's dinner: haggis, neeps and tatties. 

They loved that too.
Except for Mimi, less of a meat-eater by the day, who opted for fish fingers. She doesn't know what she is missing. 

Later, I went for a kayak fishing session with Finnzy-Bob to burn (a small portion of) the haggis off. 
No wind, but surprisingly a good bit of swell. It was a choppy enough ride. 

And I lost the only mackerel that we caught, it made an escape while I was busy sticking a hook in my right index finger. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.