In the heart of the Torlesse Range

Today we chose a couple of valleys leading to ridges we hoped would be as sheltered as possible from the forecast nor'westerly wind.

It's been a while since I've been in the mountains and it was wonderful to be in my happy place. Here we've just popped/slogged up onto this saddle. It was windy but not as bad as we expected at this point. We're looking at Mt Torlesse and I'd tell you the other one only my brain is nearly asleep and I can't for the life of me remember.

To our left a ridge leads up to Castle Hill Peak. After lunch we headed up the ridge but the wind increased with every step. As the old adage goes, there are bold climbers and old climbers, but there are no old bold climbers. We didn't expect to summit CH Peak today and to have tried would have been foolhardy.

The snow was soft and around knee deep. You expend a lot of energy crashing through the snow pack but at least it was forgiving with no nasty surprise of ice beneath.

On our approach up the valley floors we crossed fresh deer sign where one had come down for a drink from Foggy Stream. On leaving the stream we bashed through scrub until we reached a rocky ridge.

Higher up the ridge we bashed our way through an unusual section of beech trees on a steep ridge. At one point my ice axe on the back of my pack was wedged in the trees. I couldn't go forwards or backwards. Somehow I slithered down and sideways and freed it. It was extraordinary in view steep snowy mountains through a mass of branches.

At the top of the bushline we siddled across a steep slope with snow patches to reach the saddle in the picture. In places it was what we refer to as "bony", meaning there was little or no stones or gravel on top, just bare rock. I was caught out in one spot and got a fright when I slipped. I was fine and able to think straight and control my fear.

It was a glorious day and good fun with a couple of mates. Fun in the sense that I was glad to be there and grateful for the opportunities I have and ability to still do these things. I have huge respect for this environment and never take it lightly.

As I type a small earthquake has rocked my peace. Not only a reminder of all we've endured and continue to, but also why we have such a magnificent back yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.