Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Mystery flower

T and I found this flower on the Portmore Loch and Boreland walk near Eddleston, but even though T has a degree in botany, it remains unidentified. It looks even more fantastical on the screen than it did in real life.

I've done this walk many times and I love it because there's a lot of variety for a short walk: woodland, a loch and hills and glens. However, today was special because we found the Northshield Rings, an iron age fort with several concentric ramparts and ditches. I've looked for it before, unsuccessfully - it's surrounded by woodland, and it was just impossible to know exactly where we were from the map alone. After our last attempt I vowed to get a GPS, and then decided that a smart phone would be a better idea, so a year or so on, it worked! I have an app with OS maps which I love - you can find out where you are, instantly. You can also record your route, so I should be able to find the fort again, although now I know where it is, it shouldn't be a problem.

After the rings, we went on a different route for a bit, to cut off some of the extra distance. It was a bit of an adventure, I was just hoping we wouldn't have to retrace our steps back to the fort. On my return, there was an email from someone in my walking club which warned us against going to Boreland Farm, as another member had sustained a nasty dog bite from a border collie at that farm. We had bypassed the farm with the different route - someone was looking out for us, clearly! We finished with tea and cake at the Scots Pine Tearoom, a good way to round the walk off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.