Waiting for Andy

I was wide awake at 5 this morning. I waited until it got light and then went out , leaving Luke to lie in. The morning light was lovely but at 7am the temperature was already 74 degrees. We are staying just next to Central Park so I walked around for a couple of hours, watching people jogging, cycling, walking their dogs and playing baseball. Then I had breakfast at a bakery.

Luke had to buy a new bag and try to get his phone fixed, which took a lot more walking. I'm sure its a good way to see the city but it's tiring in the heat. I don't think I've glugged so much water in ages.

This afternoon, we took the subway out to Queens, where the US Open Tennis is about to begin at Flushing Meadow. On the Sunday before the tournament, you can get in for free to watch the players on the practice courts. Andy Murray was due on at 2.30 and we got a great seat, but then, disappointingly, he pulled out. Another hot half an hour later, we were able to watch Martine del Potro and then the Bryan brothers playing doubles.
We had an early dinner in Little Italy and now I have my feet up and the fan whirring a bit of cool(ish) air around the room.

Goodnight, all :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.