Hiroshima, August 6, 1945

We have a statue of Sadako Sasaki at the head of the University Bridge in our neighborhood - today as I was riding to cross the bridge I noticed paper cranes on the sidewalk - it seemed strange. I took this photo and then began to pick them up I had to choose a color as my bike bag could not hold them all ) to re-string. It dawned on me that this was the 67th anniversary of the devastation from that bomb and surely this destruction was a malicious act.

Sadako was 2 in 1945, at age 9 she showed signs of what was called "atomic bomb" disease, and she died at age 12. But while hospitalized she learned of a Japanese legend, that whoever folds 1000 paper cranes has a wish granted - she folded 1000 before she died and wrote as part of her wish "I will write peace on your wings and you will fly all over the world".

Fold some cranes for peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.