A garter is NOT a sock!

She was beautiful.
He was handsome.
The ceremony was meaningful.
The food was delicious.
The friends were fun. ...you get the idea. :)

A Thai friend asked the other day, "What is on the girl's leg at American weddings that the guy has to take off?"

"Ummm...." I was trying to think quick, but my thoughts and Thai words weren't coming quick enough.

"It's kind of like a sock." (Sock was the only word I knew in Thai that was even close to garter.)

"It's not a sock!" My American guy friend butted in.

"Well, how would you like to explain it?" I asked him...grateful to hand the conversation over to someone else.

"Ummm..." Now he was stuck because he stopped studying Thai before I did, and I'm sure our books didn't cover garter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.