Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Civil War; Day 2

Yesterday the Loyalist forces took the garrison at Newport Pagnell; today it was the turn of the Parliamentarians to attack the Loyalists and successfully retake the town. A much better day for weather than yesterday for the Civil War re-enactment so I stayed for the whole of the battle. The main shot shows some close combat; the more observant will notice that one of the soldiers appears to be carrying a genuine 17th Century video camera. I've also added an extra of one of the Loyalist mounted charges as I was torn between the two shots.

I don't know how many re-enacters were involved but my estimate is that there were at least a couple of hundred people on the battlefield which made for a very impressive display. Add to this that the whole thing was free of charge and I call that two excellent afternoon's entertainment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.