MonoModay SIGHTing the enemy

These binoculars belonged to my father.

They are marked Dollond, London
Prismatic 6x, and serial number 126546

They also have the Broad Arrow on the top and on the leather case, signifying property of the British Government.

I have not been able to date them, but I do know that Dollond ceased manufacture of binoculars by1920, although they sold them, sometimes under their name.

My father did not see active service in WW II, but was in the South African equivalent of the Home Guard.

He related the story of one day being ordered to an area 20 miles away, to defend a beach, alone (!) with only his rifle, as a squadron of Japanese bombers had been sighted.

Before taking up his post, he arranged for the evacuation of my mother and baby brother to a neighbouring town (I had not been born).

He stood on the beach until given the all clear when the aircraft turned out to be a cloud formation.


I would like to think that these binoculars accompanied him that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.