a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Something in my eye

Mono Monday: Sight


In all the excitement that you have, during a Bank Holiday weekend in the UK when the sun actually shines, I almost completely forgot about Mono Monday and the last of JDO's 5 senses challenges.  Heavens!  Fortunately I remembered in time to change my blip of the dragonfly to one where it is clearly rubbing its eye.  They do seem to do this quite regularly, and I can only assume that whey they do, they are wiping something off their compound eyes.  (This is easier to see in large)

I've given you a shot of the same insect in colour as an extra (this was originally intended to by my blip).  As you can see (form the body colouring) it is a male common darter.

There have actually been a few dragonflies in the back gardens of the village today.  Cathy and I were eating our lunch outside by the pond, enjoying the good weather when we were joined by a hawker dragonfly - I raced in to get the camera, but it did not settle for long enough for me to either get a shot or to be able to definitively identify it.   This afternoon and evening we have been enjoying a barbecue at a friend's house and once again there was a hawker overflying their garden, but again, it was busy hunting and did not settle.

It is back to work tomorrow, but fortunately we only have a 4 day week, so it is not all bad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.