Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Scar

From my Bank Holiday excursion to Arnside; a Northern Class 156 approaching the Kent Viaduct with Whitbarrow Scar behind.

I'd been hoping that some of Arnside's notable summer butterflies would still be about, although it is late in the season for the ones I particularly wanted to see. It was sunny but perhaps not quite warm enough to lure them out today, so I made do with a few humble Meadow Browns, Speckled Woods and a solitary Peacock. I did come across one Painted Lady next to the trig point, only my second of the year, but it was too elusive to photograph. I'll try to visit a few weeks earlier next year, with Scotch Argus, High Brown Fritillary and Grayling still on my wish list.

Otherwise, it was nice just to ramble around the Knott and enjoy its spectacular views. I've had a few formative experiences here over the years, so plenty of happy memories too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.