'Time in a bottle'.. *

.. We had visitors for the weekend, to celebrate a 79th birthday (not mine).

We had a truly lovely time. All the careful planning of food paid dividends and I was (unusually) happy with how it all went.
Games were played.
Catch-ups were caught up.
Old times (and relatives no longer with us) were remembered.
Future plans and holidays were discussed.
(And many photographs were taken, but I tend not to blip 'folk').

In the late afternoon, when they had all waved goodbye and gone on their merry way(s) (and when I should really have been washing up), I took a few minutes to contemplate..

I stood very still - underneath one of my (new) favourite trees and thought about all that we had talked about, past, present and future.. And how I had enthused about plans people had to travel the world..(My enthusiasm for them was genuine).

And then I thought about this moment, and how incredibly blessed I feel, to be able to stand very still under this tree and enjoy the bliss of the birds in the garden. And how, right at this moment, there is nowhere else on this planet that I would rather be.

(Is it good enough grammar to end a sentence with 'be'??
It doesn't look quite right.
But it's good to be back to reality, even if only through grammar, because quite frankly the dishes won't wash themselves).

(*A Jim Croce moment of soppiness).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.