life in 4x6

By macdoughnut

100% Scout

Scouting is one of the best things out there, and I for one can safely say i am 100% scout!

This is a poem, that was written by one of the leaders at the camp, Simon Lamb. He asked the kids that did his activity to finish the sentence 'I am a Scout, I am _______________.' With the criteria being that their 'blank' had to be magical, funny, thought-provoking, odd, random, literal, brilliant, or all of the above. He then cut it up, and re-arranged it to produce this absolute blinder of a poem. You can click on the link to see it being performed infront of the closing campfire. Makes me SO proud to be part of it!

I am a Scout
by Simon Lamb and the Scouts of Blair Atholl 2012

I am a Scout
I am a flying flag tickling the air
I am a mean green tent-building machine
I am a happy bouncy cheery tractor
I am as dry as a bucket of water
I am as hygienic as anti-bac
and clean as a muddy puddle
I am muddy flip-flops squelching through the mud
I am as smooth as a rugged tarpaulin
tugged out by rope
I am the tamer of the greasy frying pan
I am a sack of clean laundry
I am a sock soaked with sweat
mixed with rain
I am as fresh as the morning dew
and high as the rising sun
I am a mountain that towers above
I am a lone flower atop that mountain
'til the clouds abate and I am joined by friends
I am as cold as an icecube
being hugged
by a polar bear
in a refrigerator
I am a true Scotsman
though not even a Scout
I am the sweetest Irn-Bru with the orange froth
I am addicted to the Bru
I am an international crew
I am a Canadian flag
strapped to a hockey stick
with Duct tape
I am creamy as Irish butter
I am the milk to your cereal
I am the A to your B
I am the boy who lived
I am the girl in your dreams
I am a flame burning bright in the night
I am a candle that will never not light
I am a motorcycle on the road to nowhere
I am as reliant as a Reliant Robin
I am so on it like a car bonnet
I am a Stegosaurus
I am a bear on a unicycle
I am bright-eyed and bushy-tailed
I am a cat eating rainbows
I am as colourful as the kilt
dancing through that rainbow door
I am the door to Narnia
the door to a zoo
I am Spartacus
I am Spartacus too
I am the man in the moon
peppering the sky
with a sprinkle of stars
I am as epic as the eagle who soars those skies
I am the hike to the top of the world
up the mountain of life
I am the sea beneath Poseidon
I am the method in the madness
I am the meaning behind the word
I am the shadow in the mirror
I am the experience of life itself
I am pregnant
with the love of the world
I am a newborn baby on the shoulder of giants
I am Simba in the arms of Rafiki
I am standing at the frontier of fun
I am the one and only
I am what I am
I am the rhyme
the reason
and the word in one
I am midnight blue
I am almost done
I am as hungry as a man
with a marshmallow hat
who can't lick it
'cause his tongue was washed back
I am a towel freshly aired
I am a Scout
and I am prepared

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.