Swallows and Amazons

I had been looking forward to seeing the film "Swallows and Amazons" this afternoon as I was an avid Arthur Ransome reader in my youth. Normous and George humoured me but I'm not sure if the film was really their cup of tea. And did I enjoy it? Well, the child actors were brilliant, as was the Lake District scenery. There were many recognisable episodes from the original story, but in order to keep the interest of modern audiences we had to accept Russian spies into the script!
My blip is of the end paper from my old edition of Swallows and Amazons. I saved up 7/6 for it, and gradually built up most of the series. They are now very worn but still treasured. George doesn't think he will bother to read them, but son J is at present enjoying an audio version as he drives to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.