Angel Wings

Taken at Groby Pool, Leicestershire, this evening. It was the first time I'd been to Groby Pool. I get sight of it when driving from Newton Linford to the A50, and I pass the car park on the way. I imagined there would be a path around the perimeter.

How wrong could I be! There is no perimeter path. Access to the shore is severely limited despite this being a Site of Special Scientific Interest with many species of birds.

The car park closes at 8 pm from April to September and at 4.30 pm from October to March. It doesn't open until 8 am. I can understand the reasons for the restrictions. The car park used to attract doggers before it was gated off and it is also listed on the Gay Cruising website as a rendezvous. While we all know this kind of behaviour happens, we don't really want to be confronted with it in a public place.  Several families with young children were there tonight to watch the sunset.

I'd taken nd filters and tripod tonight in case I'd had the opportunity to set up properly but abandoned the effort. Instead, I concentrated on the swans gliding in the golden reflection on the water.

I won't hurry back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.