horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Headset On

Headed home via Bilston to get the crown race popped on the forks for the new bike so that I could go about getting them properly attached to the frame, and ended up spending 45 minutes or so at the Happy Cog learning a stackload of stuff on wheel building, bike building and bike fit. All things I knew a bit about, but Fraser Waters (who I knew vaguely from cyclocross) was Yoda for the evening.

Also put more ideas in my head for the groupset, which I've not decided entirely on yet, and which will likely be ordered while we're in France for me to build when I get back. And some guidance on cleats and crank lengths and saddle positions that might help with my knee that's flared up again.

Also a bonus to bump into Addy Pope there, who I know a bit better, also from 'cross, and an intriguing chat about the Three Peaks race.

Anyway, with the crown race on I couldn't not put the headset together (topped with the little indulgence above), and while the wheels aren't finished yet (partly because I need to dish them, partly because I want to do a couple of other things after chatting to Fraser) put together it's really starting to look the business.

Oh, made ketchup tonight as well. Mel started it off, not wanting the huge tomatoes in the greenhouse to go to waste while we're away, so I took over and we've got three jarsworth. Can't beat your own (especially with a bit of chilli and chipotle in there).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.