Tiny Tuesday : : Mystery

It used to be that when one traveled, one could always find little gifts and souvenirs that were unique and unusual. I still have a few things that remind me of exactly where I was and what I was doing when I purchased them…hand painted birds and flowers made from old kimono fabric from Kyoto, a small glass bird from Copenhagen, elaborate stamped speculoos cookies from Dinant, Belgium. I don't have those anymore. Even though I sprayed them heavily with shellac, they finally succumbed to moisture, ants and the attentions of our Scottish cat, Haggis.

With the advent of globalism, many things can be found at a local shop and even the local shops are starting to look exactly the same no matter where you travel. Unique purchases can still be made, but it takes a lot more ingenuity, local knowledge, and an adventurous spirit. 

I got this little fellow, one of a pair somewhere near Chiang Mai,Thailand in 1980. He reminds me a bit of a character in 'The Simpsons' He is small but heavy, which is a clue to what he was used for….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.