Lost Glasses

I've gone and lost my glasses.
Oh, specs are such a drag!
Did I leave them by the kettle?
or drop them in my bag?

My specs are just for reading
but without them print is blurred.
I can hold a book at arm's-length,
but I still can't read a word.

My mobile phone is useless
if I cannot see the screen.
Oh, where on God's earth are they?
I'll check everywhere I've been.

They're not beside the kettle.
I'll go upstairs and look;
I know I had them late ast night
for finishing my book.

I've even looked inside the fridge
in desperation, yet
my glasses aren't there after all;
I've thrown them out, I bet!

But, no, I've looked in every bin.
I've checked inside my bed.
There's nowhere else to look at all
unless, unless...

oh, yes!

There's nowhere else to look except . . .
they're on my stupid head!

poem © Celia Warren 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.