Like Mother, Like Daughter.

One of the many sellers of little boats of flowers, burning camphor and incense to put in the Ganges as part of morning or evening worship of the river. Her daughter persuaded me to buy one, even though they are not considered very environmental by the Ashram. But this girl and her younger sister and baby brother need the money to go to school. How can their Mum make money otherwise?

The suspension bridge in the background, Ram Jhula, is a footbridge which is now being used for motor bikes and scooters as well as cows, monkeys and people!

Leaving my Swiss Swami friend was hard this morning, she has looked after me so well when it should be me looking after her! My flight back to Delhi was seriously delayed because of the rains, but now I am here and about to meet the rest of the group I am spending the next 19 days with. I am nervous about that, I only know Maria, and she is running the trip. So wonderful to see her after several years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.