Reikes small life...

By Reike

Velo!

So today, Djeili had to stay at the dog sitter, as I had a doctors appointment midday close to work that usually means a waiting time of around an hour, during which I wouldn't want her to be alone in the car or the office. 
Being dog-free, I could take the bicycle! (in Swiss German this is the Velo)
:D

It took me 10 min to cycle to my doctor instead of 20 min in the car in the typical traffic jam. I could quickly stop for a minute to buy something I needed and on the way back I passed a Thai take-away that I could hop in, too. No searching around for parking and then giving up after wasting time. 

I used to cycle an average of 50km a day in the first few years I was in Switzerland, and also cycled home 40km several times a week when I worked in Scotland. It is just such a good feeling, so free, you can stop whenever you want, truly SEE and be a part of the landscape, no road rage in the car (cars are killer machines, I think!), no travelling with the train, squashed between all these tired commuters that talk loudly on the phone, want to have a chat that turns out to be racist (hey man, I am a foreigner in this country, too!) or whatever other dumb things humans can talk about, or fall asleep on your shoulder (I call those commuter trains slaughterhouse transports).

Next week I am back in the car, dreaming of better times, but happy to have my dog lying by my feet in the office, cheering me up, whenever needed.

*rant over*


P.S.: I am not the cycling hunchback of Notre-Dame, it's a backpack ;)
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.