Developing...

By AnnW

In the Footsteps of Van Gogh (or perhaps not)

We left Nice just before 9am and arrived in Arles (two trains later) just before 1pm. We stopped for a quick lunch and then RobT went to the photography exhibition (which was the reason for the trip) and I had planned to do one of the set walks from the Tourist Office - in the footsteps of Van Gogh.

Van Gogh lived in Arles for about a year and this is the place where he cut off his ear and discovered that he could paint better paintings if he used some bright colours.

The first place to find was the bridge over the canal that Van Gogh painted during his time in Arles. After walking to the outskirts of Arles, along a disused railway track and then along a dirt track for some period of time I decided that for my own personal safety I wasn't trudging along any further to find the bridge.

I headed back to Arles ditched the Tourist Office App and walk and did my own version of in the footsteps of Van Gogh. The fact that the famous yellow house where said ear was chopped didn't feature on the walk's itinerary should have been a clue.

Anyway, after doing Van Gogh to death I went to the Amphitheatre. As you can see from the blip it's very impressive, built about 100 AD and is still used for various events today including bull fights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.