cultivate thankfulness

By cultivate

Walla this day could not have been better. I met up Ehab and Martin at 9 am and it was an instant friendship. I took them to Old Town to experience The Bean Cycle and Killer Rabbit. We were scooting all over town when we stopped by Target for a little shopping. Upon request I took the guys to my favourite Japanese restaurant in Colorado-Suhiro. It was their first time eating Japanese food and using chopsticks- they were mostly excited for the sushi though! With a little practice both learned how to properly use their newfound utensils. I wish I had captured their face when they put that first piece of sushi in their mouth- it was pure ecstasy. After a delicious and lovely shared meal we headed over to the dorms to finish up their poster projects, meet the rest of the gang, and write my letters to the previous IYLEPers. Everyone was warm and welcoming, even the mentors. They insisted I attend their presentation dinner as their guest. However, Cruella de Ville- I mean Julie- made a stink and wouldn't let me stay for too long. All of the students took great offense to her rude behavior but I assured them it wasn't worth getting too worked up about (Although I was touched by their kindness towards me). Thankfully, we all met up as soon as the dinner was over and that's when things got crazy. I took as many as I could to Mahalo and Pita Pit. Then we went for a stroll down in Old Town to laugh at the drunk people and take photos. We all crammed in my car at an illegal capacity and played music too loud. Oh it was such a blast. We even drifted in the parking lot before going back in the dorms. The night didn't end there, as I was coerced into coming inside to spend more time together. Mind you it was midnight at this point. We skyped with Ali in Baghdad, played a shit show of foosball, talked, drank tea, smoked hookah, and played an Iraqi game in which teams hide a ring in a hand and the contenders must accurately choose its location. A few Saudi friends joined in the fun, and with them plus all the Iraqi's I learned a plethora of new Arabic. I was even invited to partake in the pre dawn eating of food before fasting started for Ramadan. Finally things started wrapping up, people got tired, and started leaving until it was just Ehab and I passed out on the couch asleep. I can't explain how much I adore my new friends. The quality of loyalty, respect, and kindness astounds me. I am reminded of the feeling of home, belonging, and peace again- intrinsic to my time spent with Arabs. If Ehab and I lived in the same city we would inevitably be best friends. I miss them already, and I hate saying goodbye. I definitely cried.. Inshallah one day we will meet again. Definitely one of the best days this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.