Lake Michigan....

What a gorgeous day today--my favorite kind of day--72 degrees with no humidity, very windy, and sunny! I thought there might be some wave action going on, so Tom & I went to the park to walk along the Lake so I could take some pictures. This "collage" might be a bit disconcerting to look at, in that the pictures don't line up, but I wanted to show how different the lake looked, all at the same time! I was never more than 10 feet from one spot to take all 3 of these. The one on the left is looking to the Northeast, and you can see that the sky is blue and the sun is shining. The middle one was looking straight ahead--East, toward Michigan--and if you look right in the middle of the picture you'll see 2 small funnels coming from the darkest part of the clouds. We stood and watched them for quite awhile, as they'd get bigger and start moving downward toward the water & then go back up again. I was hoping they would touch the water, as I've heard of waterspouts on the Lake, but I've never seen one. I was so busy watching them that I forgot to get a picture until they were almost gone! The one on the far right is looking Southeast, and you can see how black the sky is and the water a totally different looking color--it was so dark it was more like evening than morning-- and yet since the sun was shining it was making little sparkles on the water. Amazing! I love living so close to the Lake, as it always puts on such a great show!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.