Gloria's journal

By Gloriapatricia

The Museum of the Home, Hoxton, London

When I was a little girl and this Museum was just known as the Geffrye Museum I would visit it during the school holidays as I loved completing the worksheets that asked questions about the separate living rooms furnished in the styles of Saxon to WW2 eras.

The museum which is in Hoxton was built as a hospital and it has changed a lot since I was last there but my sister and I had a lovely time browsing in the museum and the lovely gardens. We especially liked the newer rooms in 50s to 90s styles.

Then on by bus into central London and after a walk down The Strand and into Trafalgar Square we settled in Brown's for cocktails and a early evening meal!
(Yes PJ we were trying to find Somerset House but somehow your mother lost it!).

While we walked Angela and I sorted out lots of other places we want to explore in our home city! We love our days out in London....you can take the girls out of London.......but you can't take London out of the girls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.