The Simple Life

By LauraE

Technology

I've been moved in for about three weeks now, and only today was my cable and internet set up to be installed. It's been interesting living without these things that most Americans consider commonplace. Of course, I've still been pretty connected through my smartphone and by using an antenna. The antenna was incredibly frustrating - even though I had a nice antenna by a very reputable company, I hardly ever got clear reception. I also didn't get NBC at all, which was very disappointing considering the Olympic coverage! Internet on my laptop was missed, but not crucial. I had my phone for quick inquiries, and plenty of public places have free WiFi.

That being said, school is about to start soon, so I need consistent and reliable internet. And while DVR boxes and hundreds of television channels might not be considered "simple", it's something that's going to make my life more comfortable for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.