Reaction Time...

I came across two things that impressed or surprised me about reaction time. Possibly just human reaction time, most definitely my reaction and processing times.

One was when I was driving and for some reason the traffic slowed very suddenly. I managed to brake just in time but my brain also unconciously processed the situation and turned the wheel to move the car away from the one in front in case it didn't stop in time.

The second was whilst riding the long way round into work yesterday. I suddenly looked up and just about got a face full of low hanging tree branches. Potentially a bit sore, but my brain surprisingly processed the situation quickly enough to turn my face down so that my helmet took the brunt of the branches. Doesn't sound that significant but my brain seemed to work a lot faster than I expected it to in that sort of situation.

Pity my brain doesn't retain memories as efficiently as I meant to write this yesterday but forgot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.